## November 18, 2020

## ATTORNEY GENERAL RAOUL CALLS ON JUSTICE DEPARTMENT TO REVERSE NEW POLICY ON FEDERAL ELECTION FRAUD INVESTIGATIONS

## Raoul, 22 Attorneys General Object to Abrupt Policy Change That Allows U.S. Attorneys to Pursue Allegations of Voter Fraud Without Adhering to Long-Established Guiderails

**Chicago** — Attorney General Kwame Raoul today called on U.S. Attorney General William Barr to reverse an abrupt change to a 40-year-old U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) policy that until this week had prevented the department from interfering with election results. <u>In a letter sent today to Attorney General Barr</u>, Raoul and a coalition of 23 attorneys general called on Barr to reverse this policy, which they argue "will erode the public's confidence in the election."

"The right to participate in our nation's democracy is one of the most fundamental rights we have as Americans," Raoul said. "This year, a record number of Americans cast their ballots in the general election, and state election officials took great effort to maintain the integrity of the election and ensure that those ballots were cast in a safe and secure way. The Justice Department should continue its 40-year policy that gave states the primary responsibility to investigate election irregularities."

On Nov. 9, Attorney General Barr issued a new directive that U.S. attorneys may now pursue allegations of voter fraud without adhering to long-established, important guardrails. Until now, the DOJ has recognized that the principal responsibility for overseeing elections lies with states and has "taken care to avoid affecting the outcome of elections or even the perception of political intrusion in the electoral process," Raoul and the coalition wrote.

Joining Raoul in sending the letter are the attorneys general of California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.